Our awards celebrate exceptional people and recognise the achievements of our community. This includes those who have lived well with diabetes and the contributions made by leading researchers, carers and community supporters.

Our two key awards are the Kellion Victory Awards and the Sir Kempson Maddox Award.

Kellion Victory Awards

The Kellion Victory Awards are presented to people who have lived with type 1 diabetes for 50, 60 and 70+ years. The awards recognise what is possible while living with diabetes and celebrate the significance of these milestones.

Family, partners and carers of our Kellion Winners are also acknowledged and recognised for their ongoing dedication and support through our Kellion Carer Award.

Sir Kempson Maddox Award

The Sir Kempson Maddox Award, which has been presented since 1985, is Diabetes NSW & ACT’s most prestigious award. The award, which was established in honour of our founder Sir John Kempson Maddox, acknowledges people who have made a significant contribution to the diabetes movement, whether through research, improved care, volunteering or philanthropy, helping to improve the lives of people living with diabetes. Recent winners include:

2018 Dr Graham Ogle (Pictured above (centre) receiving his award)

CEO, Life For A Child, Australia

2017 Professor Stephen Twigg

Clinical Academic & Head of Dept. of Endocrinology Royal Prince Alfred Hospital

2016 Professor Glen F Maberly

Director Western Sydney Diabetes

2015 Elsie Langford

Diabetes NSW Board member2004-2015

2014 Professor Lesley Campbell

Director of Diabetes Services, St Vincent’s Hospital

2013 Stanley Clark

Inventor of portable blood glucose monitor

For more information on either of these awards please contact our Helpline on 1300 342 238.

Join our community of over 45,000 people living with diabetes